Fine Arts » Academic, Speech, and Debate Team

Academic, Speech, and Debate Team


“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.” Colossians 3:23

Academic Directors: Nancy Payne (spelling and TAPPS math coach) and Marsha Domann (social studies, current events, literary criticism, ready-writing and art history coach) 
Advanced Math & Number Sense Coach: Mike Matthews 
Competitive Speech and Debate Coach: Debbie Waddell
 2018-2019 Calendar of Events: Speech and Debate Tournament Regular Season Schedule


Tournament Location


Aug. 31-Sept. 1

Foster/George Ranch HS Result: 1st George Ranch IE

NIETOC Foster side; IE swing

Sept. 14-15

Elkins HS

NIETOC; 3rd place

Sept. 28-29

Memorial HS

 3rd place

Oct. 12-13

Grand Oaks HS


Oct. 19-20 Klein HS


Oct. 26-27

Clear Lake HS


Nov. 2-3

The Woodlands HS


Nov. 9-10

Clear Brook or Katy Taylor  

Nov. 16-17

Cy-Creek/Cy Fair HS

Swing; 2nd Cy-Fair side

Nov.30-Dec. 1

Bay City HS


Dec. 7-8

Tompkins HS


Dec. 14-15

Jersey Village HS


Jan. 4-5

Dobie HS


Jan. 11-12

U of H - high school tournament


Jan. 25-26

Alief Kerr or Flower Mound


Feb. 8-9

Seven Lakes  

Tournament Post-Season Schedule (must qualify):

TFA State: March 14-16, 2019 @ Alief Taylor High School in Houston
TAPPS State: April 1 (LD Debate), April 2-3 (Speech & Academics) @ Waco Convention Center, Waco, TX
NIETOC: May 10-12, Millard North HS, Omaha, NE
Courses Offered: Debate and Oral Interpretation are curriculum courses (within the English Department) students can take as an in-depth studies in the art of debate and various speaking/acting styles. Both debate and oral interpretation are year-long courses that require competition at local tournaments and teacher approval/course audition.
  • Debate I
  • Debate II Honors
  • Debate III Honors
  • Debate IV Honors
  • Oral Interpretation I
  • Oral Interpretation II Honors
  • Oral Interpretation III Honors
  • Oral Interpretation IV Honors


Competitive Opportunities:

  • Academic
    • Advanced Math                            
    • Calculator Applications
    • Current Issues and Events
    • Literary Criticism
    • Mathematics
    • Number Sense
    • Ready Writing
    • Science
    • Social Studies
    • Spanish
    • Spelling
    • Yearbook
  • Speech
    • Original Oratory
    • Persuasive/Extemporaneous Speaking
    • Poetry Interpretation
    • Prose Interpretation
    • Solo Acting/Dramatic and Humorous Interpretation
    • Duo Acting
    • Duet Acting
    • Impromptu Speaking
    • Informative Speaking
  • Debate
    • Lincoln-Douglas
    • Student Congress
    • Public Forum

Students compete in academic virtual challenge meets during the year and in the TAPPS state meet in the spring. Students compete in Texas Forensics Association speech and debate meets throughout the year.


  • Participate in local Texas Forensics Association speech and debate tournaments
  • Charter Chapter Status in the National Speech and Debate Association
    • 2018 Will Flynn - Academic All-American
    • 2017 Andrew Degges - Academic All-American
  • Participate in Best of Texas and Virtual Challenge Meet academic tournaments
  • TAPPS Academic, Speech, and Debate State 
    • 2019 - 6A State Overall - State Champions; Speech Champions 
    • 2018 - 6A State Overall -- State Champions; Speech Champions; Debate Champions
      • 2018 Maddie Otten - Virginia Worth Top Speaker Award
    • 2017 - 6A State Overall -- Runner-Up; Speech Champions 
    • 2016 - 5A State Overall -- Runner-Up; Speech Champions
    • 2015 - 5A State Overall -- Runner-Up; Speech Champions
    • 2014 - 5A State Overall -- 4th Place
  • Additional Opportunities for Qualifiers:
    • Texas Forensics Association (TFA) State Competition
      • 2018 Grace Feray - 5th Place Prose
      • 2017 Tannielle Joseph and Nick Wanner - Duet semi-finalists
      • 2015 Sara-Ann Cook - 5th Place Prose
    • National Individual Events Tournament of Champions (NIETOC) National Competition
      • 2018 Maddie Otten - 6th Place Poetry
      • 2018 Reese Fast and Will Flynn - Duet quarter-finalists
      • 2017 Maddie Otten and Grace Feray - Duet octa-finalists
      • 2017 Tannielle Joseph and Nick Wanner - Duet quarter-finalists 
From 2014-2017, the one-act play was a part of the competitive speech team and directed by speech coach Koy Domann. Highlights include:
2014 - Sweet Nothing in My Ear - District and State Champions State Individual awards: Best Actor Nick Garig, All-Star Cast Colleen Catania, Raphael Jaquette, All-Star Crew Maddie Nutt
2015 - Les Miserables - State Runner-Up State Individual awards: All-Star Cast Nick Wanner, David Kosa, Carter Tiesman, Honorable Mention Cast Darby Baker, All-Star Crew Jennifer Sump
2016 - Ville Du Havre - District Champions and 5th place state finish State Individual awards: All-Star Cast Nick Wanner, Honorable Mention Cast Will Flynn, David Finn, All-Star Crew: Andrew Degges, Kaelene Krause
2017 - These Shining Lives - District Champions and 3rd place state finish State Individual awards: Best Actress Grace Feray, All-Star Cast Anna Arego, Maddie Otten, Honorable Mention Cast Carlos Wolf, All-Star Crew Andrew Degges